Getting a DUI (Driving under the Influence) or DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) conviction is a serious offense in Arizona. The state has very particular requirements for auto insurance after a DUI, since you are now considered a high-risk driver. In addition, your license will be suspended, making it difficult to find auto insurance companies who want to take you as a customer. Luckily, UNO Auto Insurance in Phoenix, Arizona can help you compare quotes. We have provided some useful information below—but it is always important to call our offices and compare auto insurance rates as you proceed.
SR-22 Auto Insurance
In Arizona, you will be asked to get SR-22 auto insurance if you have a DUI. “SR” stands for “safety responsibility” law. The law requires your insurance company to file a certificate of insurance with the state. The certificate validates your coverage under the SR-22 law. To submit an SR-22 Certificate, the company must certify you have coverage as a higher risk driver. This means your costs for auto coverage can be quite high; in addition, you have to pay a fee for the certificate to be filed.
How SR-22 Impacts You
Once the SR-22 is filed, the state will get reports about your insurance coverage. There will be consequences if your coverage lapses during the time the SR-22 is on file. Typically, you are required to have SR-22 for three years after your license is reinstated from the DUI. You should also drive safely and carefully this time. If you get more offenses, your insurance rates will soar!
Shopping for Auto Insurance with a DUI
Your rates will go up after a DUI; there is no way of preventing that. Fortunately, you can contact UNO Auto Insurance and get quotes from many different companies all at once. Certain companies even carve a niche in serving higher risk drivers, but it is still best to compare rates from an array of carriers.
How a DUI Affects your Driving Record
In Arizona, if you are pulled over and found with 0.8 percent or more alcohol in your system, you will lose your license. Some people may decline testing while being arrested for a DUI. However, a delay of any testing may result in loss of driving privileges for 12 to 24 months. Arizona is a zero tolerance state for DUIs. Here are some of the penalties according to the Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT):
- For a first offense, you will be fined and jailed, required to attend treatment and undergo alcohol screening, as well as equip your vehicle with an interlock device.
- For second offense (and any thereafter), you will be jailed for no less than 90 days, lose your license for at least 12 months, and be fined at least $3,000.
A DUI severely affects your life. If you plan to drink, it is best to use local transportation, a designated driver, or cabs. However, if you find yourself needing insurance after a DUI, UNO Insurance Agency in Phoenix, AZ is here to help.